Society for Ethnomusicology, Southeast and Caribbean Chapter (SEMSEC) By-Laws

- 1. The Southeast and Caribbean Chapter of the Society for Ethnomusicology shall include members from Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, and the Caribbean Islands.
- 2. Officers include a President, Vice President, and Secretary-Treasurer, each serving for a term of one year. The Vice President and Secretary-Treasurer shall be elected at the annual meeting. The President shall not be elected but shall move into that position after serving one year as Vice President. All chapter officers must be members of SEM in good standing.
- 3. A Student Board Member shall be elected by student members at the annual meeting for a term of one year. The Student Board Member shall be a voting member of the Executive Board, and must be a student member of SEM in good standing. If a student election is not feasible, the Chapter President shall appoint a Student Board Member. This person will serve as a member of the SEM Student Concerns Committee, and is encouraged to organize student activities such as proposals for panels and performances at the annual chapter meeting.
- 4. The Vice President will serve as Program Chair for the annual meeting and shall appoint a committee of at least four members to plan the annual meeting. The Secretary-Treasurer will serve as the Dale A. Olsen Prize Committee Chair and shall appoint three to five members to the Dale A. Olsen Prize Committee according to the criteria set forth in the prize procedures.
- 5. The Local Arrangements Chair for the following year's meeting shall be elected at the annual meeting. Alternate sites for the following year and tentative sites for future years shall also be suggested at that time.
- 6. Annual meeting registration fees will be determined by the Local Arrangements Chair, in consultation with the chapter officers.
- 7. Officers shall appoint a Website Manager/List-Serve Administrator with no fixed term, as the need arises.
- 8. There shall be an Advisory Board of five members. Chapter Presidents become members of the Advisory Board for five years, beginning at the end of their term. The Advisory Board shall also include the founding Chapter President as an honorary member.

Revised by Rebecca Sager, Secretary-Treasurer of SEMSEC Changes approved by unanimous vote, SEMSEC business meeting March 28, 2009 [Submitted to SEM, April 29, 2009]